Catechism 2015-2016

Catechism Coordinator: Ted Nokonechny (ted.nokonechny@gmail.com, 306-536-3363)

 Level 1: Teacher Ted Nokonechny

  • Alexis
  • Andrew
  • Iszabella

Level 2: Teacher Len Markewich

  • Colton
  • Kiefer
  • Teagan
  • Alexandra (3)

Level 3: Teacher Karen Woitas

  • Burke
  • John
  • Mackenzie (4)
  • Madeline (4)

Level 4/5: Teacher Tyler Woloshyn

  • Aidan
  • Alexxis (5)
  • Matthew (5)

Level 6/7: Teacher Doris Gordon

  • Greydon
  • Breanna (7)

Children’s Choir Director: Angela Malowany

Notice of Absence
If it is unavoidable for children to be absent during a Catechism class or needs to leave prior to 8:00 PM, please notify the Catechism Coordinator. Please try to do this by at least noon on the day of the Catechism class. Please keep in mind that the earlier you can notify, the better!
The reason we ask you to do this is because there have been times when the teacher prepares a lesson and then none or very few of the students show up. It would make a lot more sense for us to know this information ahead of time so that the teacher’s time is not wasted. If the coordinator does not receive notification of the absence, a follow up phone call will be made to check in with you.

Parent Volunteers
We have a sign up sheet that will be made available throughout the year. We ask that you support our coordinator and teachers in making Catechism memorable for your child.

Proper Footwear
All children must have proper footwear for catechism classes. Children will not be allowed to run around in the gym if their shoes are leaving black marks on the floor. Also, please double check with your child that he/she has all his/her belongings prior to leaving the church at the end of the evening.

Consent to Release Information Forms
Parents are invited to sign a “Consent to Release Information” form. This form needs to be signed in the presence of Parish staff in order to be valid. We are hoping to make our website more vibrant this year by posting pictures of our catechism activities on our website. This form is similar to the one that your child’s school asks you to sign at the start of the school year.

Children’s Choir
We hope you will be supportive of involving your children in leading the hymns on the first Sunday of most months (as indicated on the program calendar). In addition to great fun for the children, it is edifying for the founding members of St. Athanasius Church to see the younger generation taking on active and important roles in our church. Encouraging our young people to live out the Sacramental life that God calls each of us to as Catholics is essential to helping them build a strong foundation in Jesus.

Children of Mary – For girls only!
This program is offered to girls who would like to be more involved in the Divine Liturgy and would like to learn more about the important roles that females hold in our Christian history and in our Church today. We will have a few practice sessions after Divine Liturgy on Sundays in September / October. In addition, we plan to meet 3 times over the Catechism year on Monday nights to put our faith into action, to grow in virtue, learn together, and have fun. Any girls who were not installed as “Children of Mary” last year will be installed on the Sunday following the feast of the Mother of God’s Entrance into the Temple (***November 21***). If there is an interest to meet more often than the 3 Mondays, Angela would love to meet with the girls 1 or 2 Saturday afternoons a month.

Altar Server Training – For boys who have celebrated their 1st Solemn Communion
Fr. Basil will meet with the boys and their parents who are interested in serving at the Altar. This is an important ministry, so he plans to meet with them a few times to teach them more about the reasons behind the different processions, holding the candles, and participating in the Divine Liturgy. The boys who were not already commissioned last year will be commissioned as altar servers for St. Athanasius Parish following Divine Liturgy on Sunday, November 24. The boys will be required to be vested and ready at least 5 minutes prior to the start of the Divine Liturgy.

Participation Celebrations:
Regular participation in Catechism is so life giving! We plan to celebrate this participation. Keep posted for details!

Our 2015/2016 Catechism Calendar:

Depending  on your calendar program, you may be able to use one of the following URLs to import / view the calendar:

If none of those options, work for you, then the following (as of 2015/09/20) are scheduled:

Monday, September 14 6:30pm Catechism Registration Night

Monday, September 21 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 1

Monday, September 28 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 2

Sunday, October 4 9:30am Children’s Choir at Divine Liturgy

Monday, October 5 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 3

Monday, October 12 6:30pm NO Catechism Classes — Thanksgiving

Monday, October 19 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 4

Monday, October 26 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 5

Sunday, November 1 9:30am Children’s Choir at Divine Liturgy

Monday, November 2 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 6

Monday, November 9 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 7

Monday, November 16 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 8

Monday, November 23 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 9

Monday, November 30 6:30pm Catechism Classes — St Nicholas Concert Rehersal

Sunday, December 6 9:30am Children’s Choir at Divine Liturgy

Sunday, December 6 10:45am St. Nicholas Concert

Monday, December 7 6:30pm NO Catechism Classes — not scheduled

Monday, December 14 6:30pm NO Catechism Classes — not scheduled

Monday, December 21 6:30pm NO Catechism Classes — not scheduled

Monday, December 28 6:30pm NO Catechism Classes — not scheduled

Monday, January 4, 2016 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 10

Sunday, January 10, 2016 9:30am Children’s Choir at Divine Liturgy

Monday, January 11, 2016 6:30pm Catechism Classes — Blessing Rooms after Theophany — lesson 11

Monday, January 18, 2016 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 12

Monday, January 25, 2016 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 13

Monday, February 1, 2016 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 14

Sunday, February 7, 2016 9:30am Children’s Choir at Divine Liturgy

Monday, February 8, 2016 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 15

Monday, February 15, 2016 6:30pm NO Catechism Classes — Family Day

Monday, February 22, 2016 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 16

Monday, February 29, 2016 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 17

Sunday, March 6, 2016 9:30am Children’s Choir at Divine Liturgy

Monday, March 7, 2016 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lessson 18

Monday, March 14, 2016 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 19

Sunday, March 20, 2016 Willow Sunday

Monday, March 21, 2016 6:30pm NO Catechism Classes — Holy Week

Sunday, March 27, 2016 Easter Sunday

Monday, March 28, 2016 6:30pm NO Catechism Classes — Bright Monday

Sunday, April 3, 2016 9:30am Children’s Choir at Divine Liturgy

Monday, April 4, 2016 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 20

Monday, April 11, 2016 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 21

Monday, April 18, 2016 6:30pm Catechism Classes — lesson 22

Monday, April 25, 2016 6:00pm windup — NO Catechism Classes

Saturday, April 30, 2016 First Communicants Liturgy and preparation for First Communion

Sunday, May 1, 2016 Praznik, First Communion Sunday

Sunday, May 1, 2016 9:30am Children’s Choir at Divine Liturgy

Monday, May 2, 2016 6:30pm NO Catechism Classes